• Quantcast

Burning The Rice

This afternoon I jumped on a subway up to the West Village to run some errands and then walked back via Soho.  I just mapped my walk through MapMyRun and it came to 3 miles! Wow!  I didn’t realise it was so far.  I stopped off in a couple of shops along the way, so it was a broken up 3 miles.

I was in charge of dinner this evening and I couldn’t wait to make this recipe.  It was inspired by ‘Kath Eats Real Food’.

Black bean burgers with sautèd green beans and cherry tomatoes;

food 022

In school, I always remember my teacher telling me that when cooking rice ‘you may need to burn it a few times in order to get perfect rice’, this was certainly the case this evening.  To make the bean burgers I used the following ingredients;

  • 1 tin of black beans
  • 3 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin powder
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • tsp BBQ sauce
  • S & P

I mashed it all together and made it into 3 patties which I then cooked on the skillet for about 3 minutes each side, placing some jalapeno cheese on top before serving.  While that was cooking, I sautèd some green beans, cherry tomatoes and spinach.

The end result…

food 023

food 024

Looks nice enough…………………………………………………………………. BUT……………………………………..and this is where the burnt rice comes into play……………………………………………………………………………………they were tooooooooooo SPICY!!!!!!  I put far too much chili powder in the burger mix!!  I will know better for next time.

If they weren’t so spicy I think they would have been delicious, although Rob would beg to differ!  In most cases where I’ve not used meat in a recipe Rob has actually quite enjoyed the meal but in this case, the beans were no substitute for beef!  Oh well, you can’t win them all.  Have you ever had any ‘burning the rice’ moments??

We enjoyed our meal (or at least I enjoyed my meal) on our roof with a bottle of Pinot Noir…

food 021

..and Tinker..

food 026

For dessert I had some frozen bananas prepared so thought I would give the ‘banana soft serve’ a try that I’ve been reading a lot about.  I used my Magic Bullet to create the soft serve which wasn’t ideal but it’s all I have.  When I finally got it to the required consistency I grated some dark chocolate on top mmmmmm….

food 027

This went down as well as the bean burgers with Rob, but I really enjoyed it.  We shared this bowl (I probably ate about 3/4 of it!).  It is simply just blended frozen bananas!

I’m feeling pretty full after all the beans and bananas so I’m now going to relax with my husband and enjoy the rest of ‘So You Think You Can Dance’.

Before I forget, around 4.30pm this afternoon I snacked on this;

food 020

Half a banana with almond butter and a few dates.

See you tomorrow.

xxx

2 Responses

  1. What a beautiful setting for dinner on the roof – love it! The burgers look great!!

  2. […] evening I decided to attempt the bean burgers again but this time with NO chili […]

Leave a Reply

