• Quantcast

The Present is a Gift!

I went to yoga last night with my friend Margie.  She’s one of my oldest friends, we’ve known each other for nearly 19 years!

Margie hadn’t done yoga for a while so we decided to do a basics class rather than throw her straight into a level 2/3 class and I’m so glad we did!!

Sometimes it’s good to go back to basics just to remind yourself about the postures and taking the time to do it properly.  I find sometimes in a higher level class that because it flows so quickly I don’t really pay much attention to how my body is positioned in the postures.

Also, the teacher was amazing which is the reason for me writing today.  In the class she was talking about a book she saw at an airport which was written by Deepak Chopra.  I love anything by Deepak Chopra!  This particular book was called ‘The Book of Secrets: Unlocking the Hidden Dimensions of Your Life’!

According to Deepak, there are 15 secrets to unlocking these hidden dimensions.  She didn’t go into all of them but she talked about a couple and there was one in particular that stuck out in my mind.  In today’s society everything is so goal driven, the focus is more about what you achieve at the end rather than the journey that gets you there.  She went on to talk about how life is an experiment; we are experimenting with our lives and where we want to take them and what we want to do.  This message really resonated with me!  All too often I find myself thinking about what I want to do with my life, I think it’s human nature to worry and think about the future but in doing so we forget about the present.  As Deepak Chopra once said in his book The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. “The future is a mystery.  And this moment is a gift.  That’s why this moment is called the present.”  The present is a gift!  Take this time to think about what you are experimenting with today.

Have a fabulous Thursday!

xxx

Leave a Reply

